
The Nubble Light was built in 1879, but not automated until 1987. It sits on top of the shoals and there is a little bucket that runs on a wire to get groceries for the keeper. Sometimes, during low tide, one can walk across the channel to get to the mainland. The grounds are not open to the public.
This photo was shot from Sohier Park, which was donated by William Davies Sohier. One interesting fact is that the house was built in such a way that each point on the house points to North, South, East and West.